Faculty and Staff, make sure you are ready for any changes due to Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Sharing Recordings

Videos can be shared from one course to another. Sharing means that the videos remain within the original course but then are also made available for users within another course/s. You do not need to be an administrator within a SOLE course in which to share to it; you have the option to share to any SOLE course that has enabled Panopto.

Shared videos can be posted to Content via the Panopto Queue and will be listed under the Course title in which it is shared from.

Single video Share

You can share individual videos from within the Panopto Library or from within the Panopto Platform. Sharing one video means it will become available within the Panopto Queue of the second course and can, therefore, be linked to Content through the queue.

To share a single video:

  1. Hover over the video you want to share and click on the Share This will open your sharing options.
  2. Under Who has access, the Specific people option should be automatically selected. If it is not, click the drop-down menu and select it.
  3. In the Invite People area, start typing the name of the course or site you want to share the video with and a list of suggestions will appear.
  4. The course will appear twice; once listed as a Creator role and again as a Viewer Select the Creator role and then search again and select the Viewer role as well. If you plan to post this video to Content in the second course, both options MUST be selected.
  5. You can share to more than one course by selecting both the Creator and Viewer options for all additional courses.
  6. Once you’ve completed your selections, click the button to Save Changes.
  7. If you’d like to un-share the videos, repeat this process but click the X next to the course/s to remove the shared settings, then click to Save Changes.

The video can now be posted to Content within both the original course and any other courses in which it has been shared. It is important that you DO NOT DELETE the video from the original course. Doing so will mean that it is also no longer available within any courses it may have been shared with.

It is recommended that you do not DELETE any recorded material as it cannot be retrieved.

Batch Sharing

Batch sharing allows you to share two or more videos at a time. This cannot be done within the Panopto Library; batch sharing must be done through the Panopto Platform.

To share a batch of videos:

  1. Click the right-pointing arrow to open the library in the Panopto Platform.
  2. Within the Platform, click the check boxes next to each video you would like to share.
  3. Click the Share
  4. Under Who has access, the Specific people option should be automatically selected. If it is not, click the drop-down menu and select it.
  5. In the Invite People area, start typing the name of the course or site you want to share the video with and a list of suggestions will appear.
  6. The course will appear twice; once listed as a Creator role and again as a Viewer Select the Creator role and then search again and select the Viewer role as well. If you plan to post this video to Content in the second course, both options MUST be selected.
  7. You can share to more than one course by selecting both the Creator and Viewer options for all additional courses.
  8. Once you’ve completed your selections, click the button to Save Changes.