Faculty and Staff, make sure you are ready for any changes due to Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Custom Roles

The Control Panel's Custom Roles tab provides Site Administrators with the flexibility to assign specific permissions to users by creating additional roles.

Additionally, Custom Roles can be created based on one of the four template roles or entirely of selected permissions.

Adding a Custom Role

To begin adding custom roles, click the green circle button Add Users Icon:

  1. Define the “Role Name” and give it an optional “Role Description”.
  2. Use the “Is Default?” drop down menu to make this new role the default role. If a custom role is made the default then any time new users are added they will automatically be added to this role unless another is selected.
  3. Once custom roles have been created they will be listed under the Custom Roles tab where the Role Name, Description, Default status, and Total Users listed in the role can be viewed. Roles can also be edited from this screen:
    • Edit Custom Roles Icon Edit – click to edit the Role’s name, description, and default status.
    • Edit Role Permission Icon Edit Permissions – click to set the permissions for the role.
    • Set Role as Default Icon Set as Default – click to make a custom role the default role.
    • Clear Role Default IconClear as Default – click to clear the default status and set the Student (Users) role back to default.
    • Delete Custom Role Icon Delete – this deletes the role altogether. To delete a custom role all users must be removed.

Editing Custom Role Permissions

  1. When a new role is created all Permissions will automatically be cleared so permissions must be edited in order to define what the users in the role will be able to do within the course.
  2. Begin by clicking the Edit Permissions icon.
  3. Use the drop down menu to select the template of an already existing Role’s permissions settings or manually choose which permissions should be applied to the new Role by checking the boxes next to the settings.
  4. Click the Save button once all preferred permissions have been selected.