Not all SOLE installations will support the use of the LockDown Browser.
The SOLE LockDown Browser is a secure browser for taking exams in SOLE. It prevents users from printing, copying, going to another URL, or accessing other applications during an exam. When enabled, users will not be able to take the test with a standard web browser. SOLE LockDown Browser should only be used for taking SOLE exams and should not be used in other areas of SOLE.
The SOLE LockDown Browser functions much like a standard browser, but some options have been removed or work differently. The list below highlights some of these differences.
Creating a LockDown exam is as easy as clicking a check box within the Advanced Settings of the exam. Please review the Help Pages for Adding an Exam and Defining Advanced Exam Settings to learn more on how to utilize the SOLE LockDown Browser on an exam.
Once the SOLE LockDown Browser has been enabled for an exam a LockDown Exit Password will be automatically created but the password can be edited if you wish to change it. This password can be used by users taking the exam to exit it early. This is useful for troubleshooting in case the user permanently loses connection or cannot otherwise submit an exam.
Keep in mind, you can change this password once users have taken or are taking an exam. However, an Exit Password change will not affect active users in the exam. This means, if you change the password any users that are currently taking the exam will need to use the original password and only users that launch the exam after the change has occurred will use the new password.
Prior to the first exam it is a good idea to have students complete a practice exam that uses the SOLE LockDown Browser to make sure they have installed it correctly.